The "Capsular" company's specialists has developed technology and creator-owned equipment for encapsulation of hydrophilic systems, i.e. emulsions, dispersions, suspensions and colloidal solutions, to produce capsules with innovative properties. Novelty of this development is that today it is the first precedent of encapsulation of materials containing the water component. Technology of encapsulation of fatty (hydrophobic) systems in the gelatin shell is widely used all around the world. Until now nobody has managed to encapsulate «water» with obtaining of heat-resistant capsules for long-term storage.

Capsules have spherical, or nearly spherical, geometric shape and diameter from 1.5 to 10.0 mm. In its structure the invention is characterized by presence of internal contents and the gel-like shell of a specified thickness, which comprises calcium alginate. Internal contents of the capsule is a hydrophilic substance or emulsion, aqueous suspension or dispersion.
Substances with various physical and chemical properties can be encapsulated; capsular products can be used in pharmaceutical, food, chemical, photographic, textile, petrochemical industry, as well as in medicine, agriculture and biotechnology.

Shells of capsules withstand technological processing, mechanical impact (intensive mixing), heat treatment (pasteurization or sterilization for 210 to 260 min at temperature of 130 °C under condition of compensating pressure), blending with other food ingredients, long-term storage (shelf life capsules determined only by properties of the inner filler).

A controlled release of encapsulated substances in environment due to diffusion through the capsule shell at a given speed (for example, of the biologically active or medicinal substance in the desired area of the body). has been achieved.

Models of capsules with a variety of properties have been developed. The main models are:

  • single-layer models - with a single shell on the basis of sodium alginate (for encapsulation of hydrophilic substances);
  • multi-layer (up to three shells) models - the outer shell is made of gelatin, the inner shell is alginic (for encapsulation of hydrophobic and surface active substances);
  • the «capsules-in-gel» model, where capsule shells «accrete» with gel, forming a monolithic structure of a given thickness (it is possible to create a porous or impervious system), while maintaining stability when exposed to gastric juice and gastric enzymes. The system is only destroyed under condition of ingress into the pancreas (at alkaline pH) (for different types of insulin: normal, fast and prolonged in the same container).

Depending on the tasks it is possible:

  1. to obtain capsule products with specified physical and structural-mechanical characteristics, such as size of capsules, shell thickness, ratio of internal content and shell, breaking strength, modulus of instantaneous elasticity, etc.
  2. to set specified dimensioning specifications (from 1.0 to 10.0 mm).
  3. to set a predetermined ratio of the shell to internal contents of capsules (from 5:95 to 50:50).
  4. to confer specified characteristics to shells (thickness, structure, permeability, strength, elasticity, stability to enzymes, pepsin, gastric juice, temperature, pressure, etc).

Encapsulated products are offered as one of the means of directed delivery of nutrients or drugs to specific parts of the body (gastrointestinal tract, pancreas, intestine and colon), providing maximum bioavailability, increasing medical and biological effectiveness.

The peculiarity of the capsule is programmable discharge of content of the capsules in the desired area of the body.
The shell has an immunostimulating, antiallergenic and anti-inflammatory action, binds exogenous and endogenous compounds, in particular salts of heavy metals and radionuclides, in the gastrointestinal tract of humans, serves as a means of detoxification of the human body and possesses curative and preventive properties.

Специалистами ООО «Капсулар» разработана технология и авторское оборудование для капсулирования гидрофильных систем – эмульсий, дисперсий, суспензий и коллоидных растворов с получением капсул, обладающих инновационными свойствами. Новизна данной разработки состоит в том, что на сегодняшний день это первый прецедент капсулирования веществ, содержащих водную составляющую. В мире широко эксплуатируются технологии капсулирования жировых (гидрофобных) систем в желатиновую оболочку. Никто до сегодняшнего дня не научился капсулировать «воду» с получением термостойких капсул длительного хранения.

Капсулы имеют шаровидную, или близкую к шаровидной, геометрическую форму, диаметром от 1,5 до 10,0 мм. По своей структуре изобретение характеризуется наличием внутреннего содержимого и гелеобразной оболочки заданной толщины, в состав которой входит альгинат кальция. Внутреннее содержимое капсул представляет собой гидрофильное вещество или эмульсию, водную суспензию или дисперсию.
Капсулированию возможно подвергать вещества с различными физико-химическими свойствами, капсульные продукты могут применяться в фармацевтической, пищевой, химической, фотографической, текстильной, нефтеперерабатывающей промышленности, а также в медицине, сельском хозяйстве и биотехнологиях.

Оболочки капсул выдерживают технологическую обработку, механическое воздействие (интенсивное перемешивание), термообработку (пастеризацию или стерилизацию в течение 210…260мин. при температуре 130°С при условии компенсирующего давления), смешивание с другими пищевыми ингредиентами, длительное хранение (срок хранения капсул обусловлен только свойствами внутреннего наполнителя).

Достигнуто управляемое высвобождение инкапсулированных веществ в среду за счет диффузии через оболочку капсулы с заданной скоростью (например, биологически-активного или лекарственного вещества в нужном участке организма).

Разработаны модели капсул с разнообразными свойствами. Основными моделями являются:

  • однослойные – с одной оболочкой на основе альгината натрия (для капсулирования гидрофильных веществ);
  • многослойные (до трех оболочек) – внешняя оболочка – желатиновая, внутренняя – альгиновая (для капсулирования гидрофобных и поверхностно-активных веществ);
  • модель «капсулы в геле», причем оболочки капсул «срастаются» с гелем, образовывая монолитную структуру заданной толщины (возможно создание пористой или непроницаемой системы), сохраняя стабильность при воздействии желудочного сока и желудочных ферментов. Система разрушается только при условии попадания в поджелудочную железу (в щелочной рН) (для разных типов инсулинов: нормального, быстрого и пролонгированного в одном контейнере).

В зависимости от задач возможно:

  1. Получение капсульных продуктов с заданными физическими и структурно-механическими характеристиками, такими как размер капсул, толщина оболочки, соотношение внутреннего содержимого и оболочки, усилие разрушения, модуль мгновенной упругости, др.
  2. Установление заданных размерных характеристик (от 1,0 до 10,0 мм).
  3. Установление заданного соотношения оболочки к внутреннему содержимому капсул (от 5:95 до 50:50).
  4. Придание заданных характеристик оболочкам (толщины, структуры, проницаемости, прочности, эластичности, стабильности к воздействию ферментов, пепсина, желудочного сока, температуры, давления и т.п.).

Капсулированные продукты предлагаются как один из способов направленной доставки нутриентов или лекарственных препаратов к определенным участкам организма (кишечно-желудочного тракта, поджелудочной железы, тонкой и толстой кишки), обеспечивая их максимальную биодоступность, увеличивая лечебную и биологическую эффективность.

Особенностью капсулы является программируемое выделение содержимого капсул в необходимой зоне организма.
Оболочка обладает иммуностимулирующим, противоаллергенным и противовоспалительным действием, связывает в желудочно-кишечном тракте человека экзогенные и эндогенные соединения, в частности соли тяжелых металлов и радионуклиды, выступает средством детоксикации организма человека и обладает лечебно-профилактическими свойствами.